Albondigas Inspired Dish

If you haven’t yet been to Las Iguanas then you’re seriously missing out, it definitely is one of my favourite restaurants. This recipe was inspired by their dish Albondigas, I took note of some of the ingredients and made it my own. When I am cooking I like to make it up as I go, trying out different combinations.

I love Kofta meat that I learnt to make from my mother so I decided to combine them in a sauce similar to an Albondigas dish and it tastes delicious. It’s easy too as its pretty much the same herbs and spices in the meatballs as the sauce.


Ingredients:

Kofta Meatballs:

  • Lamb Mince
  • Crushed Garlic
  • Egg
  • Coriander
  • Mint
  • Cumin

Sauce:

  • Chopped tomatoes
  • Olive Oil
  • Cumin
  • Bay Leaves
  • Coriander
  • Mint
  • Garlic
  • Red Onion
  • Olives (optional)
  • Chilli
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Sugar

 

Method:

  1. Start by making the meatballs, place all the ingredients in a bowl and combine
  2. Once everything is incorporated shape into balls, making sure all are even sizes.
  3. Dice the onion and lightly fry in Olive oil, adding the meatballs and garlic
  4. Once the meatballs have browned add the tin of chopped tomatoes.
  5. Add the rest of the ingredients (herbs and spices) to taste.
  6. When cooking with tomato based sauces sometimes I like to add a pinch of sugar to balance flavours as the tomatoes can be too bitter.
  7. Cook on low and simmer
  8. To serve I like to fry Italian bread in a little olive oil

 

1121212

You can adapt this dish to however you like, it could be served with rice or add in some aubergine.  In the picture I served it with fried flatbread which really complemented the dish. Or alternatively it could be a small starter before your main course or serve as part of a tapas.

Be sure to try it out and make it your own, enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

